Pennsylvania To End Zero-Tolerance Driving For Medical Marijuana Patients
A recent bill in Pennsylvania could end the zero-tolerance driving penalty for medical marijuana patients. Because THC stays in one's system for around 30 days, current patients can be charged anytime they operate a vehicle within 30 days of consuming their medication. This means that even if a patient is not currently under the influence while driving, they could still test positive for THC leading to a potential DUI.
Currently, in Pennsylvania, there is no requirement that the driver be deemed ‘impaired’ or ‘under the influence of a substance’ to be convicted of a DUI. The only proof law enforcement needs in order to convict a driver of a DUI is for them to test positive for THC.
The new bill would solely protect medical marijuana patients from being convicted of a DUI. After a long fight to legalize cannabis to treat countless medical conditions, it is important that this bill be passed to further protect patients from being legally prosecuted for simply using their medication. If you are not currently a medical marijuana patient in Pennsylvania, but are utilizing cannabis treatment, you may consider getting your Pennsylvania Marijuana Card to protect you from further legal discrepancies.
If you are a Pennsylvania resident suffering from one of the qualifying conditions in Pennsylvania, you may be eligible for medical marijuana treatment.
Click here to learn more about what Pennsylvania Marijuana Card's state-certified medical marijuana doctors can do for you, or give us a call at 855-607-5458 and our friendly support team can walk you through the entire process, and set you up with an appointment.